Executive Committee & Leader Contacts

The Suwannee-St. Johns group is governed by an eleven member Executive Committee (ExCom), which meets on the second Thursday every month at 6:30 pm. Meetings are usually held in the Santa Fe College Blount Center (downtown Gainesville campus) and are open to all Sierra Club members.

ExCom members serve a two-year terms beginning in December. The main requirements (other than being a current Sierra Club member) are a willingness to work on various tasks providing leadership and direction for the Group, and attending the ExCom meetings each month.

We are always looking for members who are interested in serving on ExCom or other committees. If you are interested in helping out, please contact any of the ExCom members listed below.

Tribute to Whitey Markle, Past Chair, Conservation Chair and much more

2020 SSJ Executive Committee

Chair                         Sarah Younger                 youngersn@outlook.com

Vice-chair                 Maryvonne Devensky    maryvonne.deven@gmail.com

Treasurer                  Roberta Gastmeyer        rgastmeyer2@gmail.com

Secretary                   Sherry Steiner                sherrysteiner@att.net     

Conservation             Merrillee Malwitz-Jipson    merrilleeart@gmail.com

Events                          Sherry Steiner                  sherrysteiner@att.net 

Inspiring Connections Outdoors    Roberta Gastmeyer

Legal                                                   Help!

Membership/Volunteers                 Roberta Gastmeyer

Political                                               Scott Camil       scottcamil@gmail.com

Outings                                              Maryvonne Devensky

Webmaster                                          NEEDED!

Publicity                                              HELP!

Social Media                                      Many – please help if you can

Programs                                             Amy Crain   amycrain@gmail.com

N. Fla. Working Group                     Merrillee Malwitz-Jipson  merrilleeart@gmail.com

Central Working Group                     Roberta Gastmeyer

Tricounty working Group   Jon Brainard    jonbrainard@gmail.com